nm-B 6/3 in conduit

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-26-08, 09:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago Suburb
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
nm-B 6/3 in conduit

I ran NM-B 6/3 cable through 3/4" metal conduit for about 10ft. from my main panel to a subpanel. I did it to protect the cable that will be exposed in my workroom, but after doing some research I am concerned this will be a problem. Any suggestions, or will is this not be a problem? Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-26-08, 10:13 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 233
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Since you are panel to panel you have a complete conduit run. 6/3 with ground would be a violation of conduit fill requirements in 3/4 metal conduit either emt or rigid metal conduit (I didn't check the other types). You need 1" sorry but I don't know what else to say....

If you like I can post the calculation that would require 1 inch metal conduit.
 
  #3  
Old 09-26-08, 10:22 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The only legit way for #6's in the inch conduit is run THHN/THWN conductor.

If you keep the NM in the conduit you must increase to 1 inch conduit size there is no other way with it.

Merci,Marc
 
  #4  
Old 09-27-08, 05:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago Suburb
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks gang! I appreciate the input. I'll switch it out to 1" conduit.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: