Voltage drop calculations

Old 10-13-08, 10:59 PM
M
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Voltage drop calculations

Greets all. I have a question as to which table is more accurate.. Table 8 or table 9 of Ch. 9... 99.999% sure it's table 9 but my instructor is insisting everyone use the DC table for AC residential which makes no sense to me. Thoughts on that one?

I was self taught to use Ed = I x R with Table 9

My instructor is insisting on Ed = K x I x L x 2 / CMA with table 8

A 100' 120v 16amp load on 12/2 my way gives me 6.4 volts

Same scenario the instructor way gives 5.88 volts.

Quite a diff if you ask me. I have a feeling the higher guage wire you use, the more skewed Table 8 will become. Am I right on that?

I don't like K being a canned CU=12 and AL=20. I'm assuming this is where the discrepancy creeps in, no?

Thanks all.

Old 10-13-08, 11:29 PM
M
O.k... I think K is CU=12.9 and AL=21.2

According to Mike Holt anyway...

That puts Table 8 & CMA much closer @ 6.32 volts...

Is this correct?

Thanks again.

Old 10-14-08, 12:29 AM
M
Eh... Nevermind... Figured it out on my own.

K = Resistance x CMA / 1000

which puts you at 12.6 thru 12.8 for #18 to 4/0...

Sorry to eat up space here.

Old 10-15-08, 11:29 AM
M
O.k... I could really use some help here. First off, this is not a homework question. I came up with a fictional homerun and then used 4 different calculations to arrive at 4 different answers.

Which one is right?!@#*?!

Please use your own methods for finding voltage drop otherwise this is a pointless exercise. eg- ignore my previous posts. The more people who answer, the better this will go.

Bob runs a dedicated 14/2 home run, which is 120 feet long, and uses a single pole 15 amp breaker in the panel. The expected amperage draw is 12 amps. What will the voltage drop be on that circuit?

A) 8.41 v

B) 9.04 v

C) 8.84 v

D) 8.93 v

E) None of the above (explain why)