electronics burning out

Old 11-14-08, 10:58 AM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
electronics burning out

hello all, first post and i hope you can help me with this issue. i am a wood burning artist and recently my old wood burner died. now these are not the soldering iron type, but varible heat, double pen units by razertip/colwood/etc. it was my old razertip that did not work anymore, it was 3 years old. ok, so i order a colwood from the dealer, it arrives, i plug it in to the exact same outlet in the garage that the old woodburner was on, it worked fine for about 1.5 hours then it got power to the unit itself but it did not send power to the pens. i sent it back and got another and the same thing happened only about 6 hours of burning time later. the manufacturer states that this does not normally happen and that i should check the plug for electrical problems. my house is less than 2 years old, new, and i live in arizona so there are not any electrical storms or outages that could fry anything. all the other power tools/freezer/etc in the garage work fine. i tested the plugs with my multimeter and the hot to neutral is 119 volts, hot to ground the same and the neutral to ground reads between 0 and .3 volts. do you think that it is my wiring or a flaw in the units that i am receiving, maybe a bad transformer or such.
thanx in advance for any help you may provide.

Old 11-14-08, 11:16 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 45 Votes on 43 Posts
I think what you may be experiencing is called a high impedance fault, meaning that you have a loose or weak connection somewhere on that circuit which does not present itself until the wiring heats up when in use with the burner.