200A Sub Panel From 200A Main Panel!!!!!

Old 11-18-08, 12:14 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

Hi yes can someone help me out. I'm not that use to residential work as I am a Industrial Electrical Apprentice.

I would like to know how I can hook up a 200a Sub Panel from a 200a Main Panel. The sub panel is going on the second floor to run a home and the main panel was going to be used in a shop on the bottom floor. Later I changed my mind and left the main panel alone.

The electrician put a 30a breaker in and ran the wire to the sub panel. I have a couple more heaters to hook up along with existing lights, heaters, stove, etc.

So I would like to know:

1. What size of breaker should I use to run the 200a sub panel.

2. What size of wire is needed to run between the breaker in the main panel to the sub panel

Thank You, Steveng1979

Old 11-18-08, 12:32 PM
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
The size breaker depends on the load. Best to do a load calculation for the area to be served then use a breaker sized to that and wire sized to the breaker.

Old 11-18-08, 02:58 PM

Is there a certain formula to calculate that.

Anyone have the answer to this please. Can someone tell me what it would be when its filled at 200a capicity.

Thank you, steveng1979

Old 11-18-08, 04:00 PM
F
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
You have to google " Load Demand " calucations that is the only safe legit way to do this when you do the expanding the subpanel so that way you can see how much leeway you have left in the system.

Merci,Marc

Old 11-18-08, 04:50 PM
G
Received 20 Votes on 20 Posts
Originally Posted by Steveng1979 View Post
Is there a certain formula to calculate that.

Anyone have the answer to this please. Can someone tell me what it would be when its filled at 200a capicity.

Thank you, steveng1979
Well, your can't pull 200A off the main panel and then another 200A from the sub panel.

I'm a bit confused by your question. Please help.
Doug

Old 11-18-08, 04:51 PM
J
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post