Outdoor Lighting Woes

Old 12-02-08, 06:33 PM
L
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Outdoor Lighting Woes

Hello, all...I need a little help! My wife and I bought a little horse farm in Texas, and the Thanksgiving break was a chance for me to get the arena lights working. I'm not an electrician, but I do have a number of years experience with basic farm/ranch/home wiring. Anyhow, I'm sure I'm not alone in my hatred for "going over" what someone else has already done. However, I dug up, and inspected most of the 6-3 direct burial, and fixed only one break. On the first flip of the breaker to power up the lights, it trips immediately. Upon resetting, everything works, for about 5 minutes...then the breaker trips again.

Here are the rough specs:

-8 total 500w halogen lights; 2 per pole x 4 poles.

-6-3 direct burial: from source (approximately) 10 feet to the first j-box, 50 feet to the 2nd j-box, 60 feet to the 3rd j-box, and 50 feet to the last box.

-Each j-box has less than 15 feet of 12-2 from the j-box to the pair of lights.

My first thought is that I have the correct wire, but my breaker is too small for the amp load. However, I don't want to just throw a bigger breaker in. The kicker is, I couldn't find the amperage info anywhere; no the box, the instuction sheet...even the product help-line guy couldn't find it. I was estimating 2 amps each, but I think I may have figured a bit low. The only info I could find online was generic at 2-3 amp load/per fixture. Any help is appreciated.

Last edited by LunchBoxmtbr; 12-02-08 at 07:19 PM.
Old 12-02-08, 06:56 PM
Group Moderator
Received 283 Votes on 247 Posts
Originally Posted by LunchBoxmtbr View Post