Please help with dropping 200 to 100 amps

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-08-09, 07:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Please help with dropping 200 to 100 amps

I have 200 amp service at the pole and 2/0 copper going into the home. The home has a 100 amp panel. I know I should up the inside to 200 amp but time prevents me from this now. The county says I can still hook it up but need to drop one leg down on a bus bar so I am not putting 200 amps thru the 100 amp main breaker in the inside panel. What are they telling me? I need a print to see what they want. Anyone ever done this? Please help asap as I can't get power until this is done.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-08-09, 07:49 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,919
Received 24 Votes on 20 Posts
Shane,

Is there a disconnect at the pole feeding into the house panel? Is there a main breaker in the panel in the house?

Unless I am misunderstanding something your setup sounds fine. Your 100 amp main would trip if too much power was being used in the house. Your wiring feeding that panel is simply oversized for the 100 amp main.

The only issue I can see would be if the lugs on the 100 amp breaker could not accept the 2/0.

Did they give you a Code article that you would be violating?
 
  #3  
Old 01-08-09, 05:11 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I agree with PC, running the 2/0 isn't a problem unless you can't make the bends in the box, which may be a problem. Otherwise, they are supplying you with voltage, not a particular amperage, although it is limited to the cable size, which exceeds your 100 amp needs. Locally, often they POCO will go ahead and standardize their drops regardless of the size of need in the residence. That way, they don't have to go back and upgrade the wiring when the owner upgrades their panels.
 
  #4  
Old 01-08-09, 08:45 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It sounds like a paperwork glitch: The inspector's clipboard sez it's supposed to be 200 amp service, but he sees a 100 amp panel, so he rejects it. Ask to see the papers.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: