Help Needed?

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-01-09, 07:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northeast
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Help Needed?

In my basement I have a switch controlling two lights plus a constant receptacle. I have heard numerous times this will not work without a three wire connection. This setup has been there since I bought the house several years ago, and it always had 14-2 wire. My mistake started when I changed the switch from a really old one to a new one, just for looks. I also re-ran the same wire through the studs instead of being stapled to it again just for looks. fficeffice" /><O></O>
<O></O>
I have only changed the switch nothing else new, but when I went to re-connect the wires I forgot which way they went. I have searched and searched, and tried I think every combination, and nothing. Again this worked for a long time with all 14-2 wire. Any help would be appreciated!!!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-01-09, 08:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northeast
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am trying to attach a drawing to better explain, but it will not let me do it?
 
  #3  
Old 02-01-09, 08:26 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,493
Received 33 Votes on 25 Posts
You will have to first upload your drawing to a photo hosting site like photobucket.com or villagephotos.com and then post the public URL of the drawing here.
 
  #4  
Old 02-01-09, 08:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 10,481
Received 31 Votes on 28 Posts
If all you did was essentially replace one switch, then describe the wires entering that box. there are several possibilities, but a wire count may narrow it down.

For example, you could have three 14x2 wires in the box. three blacks, three whites, and three copper grounds. Give us a count.

Bud
 
  #5  
Old 02-02-09, 12:41 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: washington state usa
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unless it is a three-way switch, meaning that both switches in the circuit turn on/off the same lights and receptacle, the black wires should go to the switch, and the whites should be wire-nutted together and the bare copper wires should be wire nutted together with a pigtail to the green screw on the switch. All the switch does is break the power leg of the circuit. If the system is three-way, you need a three-way switch. The wiring of that switch can vary, so a diagram would be needed to help you out. Good luck.
 
  #6  
Old 02-08-09, 05:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northeast
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
  #7  
Old 02-08-09, 05:43 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Is the cable between the lights three conductor or are there two 2-conductor cables between the lights. We can only guess till you tell us how many individual wires and their colors in each box. and how many cables..
 
  #8  
Old 02-11-09, 03:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northeast
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The wires are only black and white, and ground. There are no three wire cables, that is the problem if there was I would understand it. I don't understand because the cables are all two wire, that is something I have never seen before, not that I would I have no professional training, but I have never had a problem before.

Thanks for the help.
 
  #9  
Old 02-11-09, 04:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: VA.
Posts: 813
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Sounds like someone before you used the the ground for a neutral to feed that receptacle and the second light, used the neutral for the switch leg for the second light and used the black for a constant hot.:bad poster:
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: