Another GFCI in series question

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-07-09, 12:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 39
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Another GFCI in series question

So I have a 20amp circuit in my garage that I wired up last year. The first and second receptacles are GFCI ( I know better now - only needed one to start). Today, I went out to play in the shop and went to turn on the radio plugged into the SECOND GFCI - no power, I noticed that the FIRST receptacle had tripped. So I reset the first with no problem, but then went to reset the second - and it tripped the breaker on the first receptacle again. Its back and forth now. Could I have bad GFCI's? I'm inclined just to replace the second with a std 20a receptacle. I've doubled checked my wiring;

From sub-panel to LINE side on the first receptacle. Second wire from LOAD side of first receptacle to LINE side of second, and so on to other receptacles.

Thoughts? Advice?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-07-09, 01:46 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: VA.
Posts: 813
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
All the GFI's need to be wired on the line side. Do not wire a downstream gfi from the load side of another.
 
  #3  
Old 02-07-09, 03:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 39
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks WN,

That was my problem. I'm not really sure if I crossed up the second one when I was checking to make sure the wires were tight or what, but the other outlets in the series were wired line side.
D'oh!
 
  #4  
Old 02-07-09, 08:52 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
but the other outlets in the series were wired line side.
If not GFCI they should be on the load side. Wasn't sure from your wording they were.

P.S. Series wiring is never use for receptacles. It is always parallel. What you really meant is sometimes called "daisy chained".
 
  #5  
Old 02-08-09, 05:57 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: VA.
Posts: 813
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Originally Posted by ray2047 View Post
If not GFCI they should be on the load side. Wasn't sure from your wording they were.
Thanks for adding that part.
 
  #6  
Old 02-08-09, 12:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 39
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ray/wn

Thanks for the clarification - yes they are wired in parallel - not series, my bad. Just to be sure I've got this correct (in case someone else is wiring a set out outlets with GFCI;

- From panel to LINE side of 1st GFCI.
- From LINE side of 1st GFCI to LINE side of 2nd GFCI.
- From 2nd GFCI to LOAD side of std 20Amp outlet (3rd in string). If this were another (3rd, why I wouldn't know) GFCI, it would be wired to the LINE side.

Is that correct? PS, the trhee outlets are the only thing on the circuit - no other branches.

Sorry for the confusing wordage above.
 
  #7  
Old 02-08-09, 12:12 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: VA.
Posts: 813
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
You go it.


blah blah blah<<<<< didnt have enough characters
 
  #8  
Old 02-08-09, 12:57 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
- From 2nd GFCI to LOAD side of std 20Amp outlet (3rd in string). If this were another (3rd, why I wouldn't know) GFCI, it would be wired to the LINE side.
If you meant from load side of GFCI yes you have it.
 
  #9  
Old 02-08-09, 01:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 39
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cool - yep from LOAD side of 2nd GFCI to LOAD side of std 20 amp...

Thanks for the help ray/wn
 
  #10  
Old 02-08-09, 02:28 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Although connecting a GFCI on the load side of another GFCI is not usually advised, it nevertheless works perfectly almost all the time. You may have a failing GFCI.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: