In need for info..

Old 02-09-09, 05:29 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Amplifier footswitch

Hi, I'm a newbie here, from Macedonia. I'm just starting to dabble into electronics, and I'm a guitar player. So, I decided to build a footswitch for my amp. It's got two channels: clean and distorted. Now, I'm using my friend's FS at the moment, and that one has 2 switches (I guess stomp switches is the technical term.) One of 'em switches between channels, and the other turns on/off the boost. I opened it to see what was inside, since I wanted to find out how it worked.
What I saw was: of course - normal, 1/4'' stereo jack, and a 3 conductor wire on the outside. In the jack, I saw, in my case, the blue (insulation, clearly) wire soldered on the smaller piece of metal, the pink one on the bigger one and the shield, normally on the lowest surface (I know it's a poor terminology as it can be, but I'm really just starting.) Now, in the box: the pink one led to the sticking pin of the switch (channel), the blue one exactly the same but to the opposite switch (boost), and the shield was separated in two, each part connected the middle sticking pins of the switches. And that's it. Can somebody please explain this concept to me? I'd be REALLY grateful. I definitely don't wanna buy a 40$ footswitch.
Thanks a lot.

Last edited by Carpe_diem; 02-09-09 at 05:48 PM.
Sponsored Links
Old 02-10-09, 04:53 AM
Anybody? I'm aware that it's total beginner's stuff, but I'd appreciate any help.

Old 02-10-09, 05:29 AM
What's the make & model of the amp? The wiring varies. My Fender HRD uses only two wires to switch between channels & add boost.

Old 02-10-09, 05:41 AM
I've got a Peavey ValveKing 112, 50W.

Old 02-10-09, 10:12 AM
You can test switches and see how they work with an "ohm meter". This is included as one of the settings with a "multimeter".

Some switches are just on/off and only have two connections.