replacing knob and tube wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-16-09, 07:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
replacing knob and tube wiring

I'm going to be replacing the K&T wiring that goes to the second floor and first floor ceilings. All the easily reached wires to the basement and first floor have been replaced with 14/2 copper wire. Now the fun starts, replacing wiring between wall cavities and ceiling cavities.
My question is, was the K&T wiring in the ceilings anchored to the joists between the first and second floors, or will it pull freely when I attach the new wire to it and pull. Just looking for a heads up as I will soon find out and am not looking forward to breaking through any ornate plaster ceilings.
Thanks Steve
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-16-09, 07:27 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,062
Received 73 Votes on 65 Posts
Sorry, the knobs clamp down pretty good and the tubes are pretty tight on the wires. I think you will have a tough time using the old wire for a pull wire. Maybe if you give them a jerk the porcelain will break. Maybe.

A lot of time in older homes you can drop some jack chain or a heavy nut on a string along side the main plumbing stack. They cut the holes pretty big back then. That may get you to the basement.
 
  #3  
Old 02-16-09, 07:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the response, my main concern is the first floor ceilings if the old wiring going to the lights is attached to the ceiling joists or not as this may require ruining some fancy plasterwork. Getting the wiring to the attic from the basement is not a problem in this case. Thanks again Steve
 
  #4  
Old 02-16-09, 08:40 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,997
Received 40 Votes on 35 Posts
It would be easier to abandon in place and just fish the new cables in place...
 
  #5  
Old 02-17-09, 03:15 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: STL
Posts: 44
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I agree, tough. I replaced all of my receptacles with new 12/2 wire. The knob and tube in my wall cavaties were anchored by the porcelin and no way to use it as a pull wire. Just blow some holes in the plaster and fix her up!
 
  #6  
Old 02-17-09, 03:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the replies, I suppose I'll find out soon enough when I get some free time and I'll let you know . I will also go with the 12/2 wire. Steve
 
  #7  
Old 02-17-09, 06:37 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: STL
Posts: 44
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Buy plenty noticed that 12/2 copper is about 25 bucks cheaper on a 100 ft spool, when I did it last spring.
 
  #8  
Old 02-19-09, 09:13 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Will check into the larger role of wire and the price of copper is less than half of what is was last spring so maybe now is the time to invest in a few roles as it keeps well. Take care Steve
 
  #9  
Old 02-22-09, 05:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Had to leave the old wire in place and fish new cables into the joist cavities for the ceiling lights. The wires that ran up the stud spaces were not attached so they were easily removed.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: