Wiring ICF basement

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-04-09, 06:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Great White North
Posts: 216
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Wiring ICF basement

I am doing some very basic wiring in a newly poured ICF (insulated concrete form) basement, and need some tips on how to install a device box on this type of insulated wall...

- the smallest depth box I could find was 1.5" deep
- the plastic strapping inside the wall to which I assume I would attach the device box to is located at a depth of 1/2"
- drywall thickness of 1/2"

So, 1.5" - 1" leaves the device box sticking out 1/2" from the drywall.

Any ideas??
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-04-09, 07:54 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,965
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
Fur out the walls with 2x4's (or 2x3's) and wire like a normal wall. It will be much easier, quicker, and you will really not be loosing that much space. You could also add some more insulation and up your R value.

If the lost space thing bugs you than use 2x2's. Then install 4x4 steel boxes and 1/2" steel mud rings. You should be able to attach the boxes to the 2x2's or the plastic strips in the form. Also, buy a bunch of nail plates to protect your wires that go through the 2x2's horizontally.
 
  #3  
Old 03-04-09, 09:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 46
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I posted the same question a couple weeks ago when I first started trying to wire up my ICF basement. Here's the thread that may provide some info for you:

http://forum.doityourself.com/electr...icf-walls.html
 
  #4  
Old 03-07-09, 06:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Great White North
Posts: 216
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Thanks for the replies and suggestions!

I'm only doing some minimal wiring in the basement and don't plan on doing any framing as I will be selling the house within the next 6 months.

Having to mount the boxes directly to the concrete isn't what I had in mind...it only makes sense that you should be able to mount the boxes to the plastic straps, so I'm going to continue struggling in that direction for now...
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: