wanting to run 220 to my shed

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-07-09, 03:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: nova scotia, canada
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
wanting to run 220 to my shed

hi i just joined today, i want to run power from my main breaker out to my shed were i have a 110 compressor and a 220 welder i just want to know what i need to do i have ran 110 in my house before but i dont know what to do for this. it is quite far and ive read a few things on hear but im confused as to what it all means. i just want two 110 outlets one for my 1/4 horse power compressor and one for what ever other tool i need. i also need one 220 for my 230 amp stick welder. thanks in advance for the help. and let me know what else you need to know.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-07-09, 04:54 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Just so we have terms clear you will be running 120/240 to your shed. I doubt 230a is the input rating for your welder. It is probably the maximum output. We will need to know the input amps. You can probably get by with a 60 amp subpanel and #6 UF cable if the distance is less then 100 feet. You would need a 50 amp breaker in your main panel. You would need to use three conductors plus ground. If you go with conduit and individual wires you can use a 60a breaker if a hundred feet or less. The welder amps are the deciding factor here though.
 
  #3  
Old 03-07-09, 05:27 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 339
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by ray2047 View Post
Just so we have terms clear you will be running 120/240 to your shed. I doubt 230a is the input rating for your welder. It is probably the maximum output. We will need to know the input amps. You can probably get by with a 60 amp subpanel and #6 UF cable if the distance is less then 100 feet. You would need a 50 amp breaker in your main panel. You would need to use three conductors plus ground. If you go with conduit and individual wires you can use a 60a breaker if a hundred feet or less. The welder amps are the deciding factor here though.
Make sure you also install a ground rod at the shed.
Jim
 

Last edited by pcboss; 03-07-09 at 06:26 PM. Reason: fixed QUOTE formatting
  #4  
Old 03-09-09, 09:29 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
Originally Posted by watsonmt View Post
a 220 welder
Please let us know the electrical specs from the welder nameplate and the distance from the main panel to the outbuilding.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: