Gfci

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-21-09, 03:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Va
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Gfci

I recently bought a house and have discovered that 2 GFCI's that passed inspection before I purchased the house all of a sudden they don't work. I know that they can be chained and all that good stuff but when I looked at them wiring for them the wires went into different holes then one of the other ones. What I am wondering is how in the world did they work 2 ago and now they don't. If it was just one then I would just chalk it up to it going bad but 2 at the same time just doesn't sound very likely and that is why I am asking.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-21-09, 03:51 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,996
Received 39 Votes on 34 Posts
When you say they don't work have you tried to reset them and/or look for a tripped breaker? Does what you tried to plug into the GFIs work in other receptacles?

do you have any sort of test equipment like a 3 light plug-in tester or simple neon probe tester?
 
  #3  
Old 03-23-09, 09:23 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can you correlate any event with "all of a sudden"? Were you using some appliance when it happened? Was there a rainstorm?

Go to your home center and spend $8 on a simple outlet tester, the kind that plugs into the outlet and has three lamps.

Follow pcboss's advice too. Press all the reset buttons you can find and turn off and back on all your breakers.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: