Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Outlet works, switch doesn't - on a GFCI Combo Outlet & Switch - Leviton 7299-NW

Outlet works, switch doesn't - on a GFCI Combo Outlet & Switch - Leviton 7299-NW

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-21-09, 11:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Outlet works, switch doesn't - on a GFCI Combo Outlet & Switch - Leviton 7299-NW

I'm replacing an old combo outlet / switch in a bathroom and can't get the Leviton 7299 to work.



I can get the outlet to work fine, but cannot get the switch to work.

Here's the super simple setup:

Line black to black, line white to white, and ground to ground.


Yay! We have power! Outlet works as well.


But the switch isn't as faithful. The instructions say to connect the switch wires to the lamp (or in my case fan). They are really straight forward, and in my case, shouldn't be any funny business.

The load terminals (unused, covered in sticker) get power as well.

I've tried every combination I can think of after the instructions let me down. I thought I had a faulty unit, but this is the second one I tried with this problem. So here I am, hoping the problem is me.

What do you suggest?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-22-09, 04:44 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I am assuming your line is entering where the white and black are across from each other on the bottom of the receptacle. Where does the neutral from your fan go? Testing the two hot wires from the switch probably won't give a light. You will need to go to a neutral to test them.
 
  #3  
Old 03-22-09, 01:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The two wires you are testing in the lower picture are the switch contacts itself, not switch powe. One lead needs to go to hot, the other to the load, the load neutral connected to where it needs to.
 
  #4  
Old 03-22-09, 02:01 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I was wondering about whether or not the switch was internally wired hot or if you had to jump to the switch. Guess you're right. At least that is what it looks like to me.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: