Does service cable have to be in conduit inside?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-24-09, 05:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: usa
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Does service cable have to be in conduit inside?

Does the main service cable coming from the meter box to the interior of the house need to be in conduit after it enters the house, right now i have it entering a couple of feet above the box and going straight into the box, does it need to be in conduit by the NEC?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-24-09, 05:25 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,001
Received 40 Votes on 35 Posts
It would only need protection if subject to physical damage. Most likely this would not apply and conduit would not be needed. You could check with your building officials for their answer.
 
  #3  
Old 03-24-09, 05:27 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Posts: 406
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No.
As long as it is not subject to physical damage, you are fine.
Unless of course there is some local ordinance that might prohibit it but I have never seen one.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: