4 gang box-best way to secure cables along stud?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-26-09, 03:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 1,155
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
4 gang box-best way to secure cables along stud?

OK, wiring a 4 gang box and I guess I never realized how many cables that involves, espcially when two of the switches are 4ways! So what is best way to secure all the cables? They all are coming from above the box. Is the 4 wire cable stacker really the best way? Even with them I will have to run a stack up both studs in the bay. I am not crazy about them since they really let cables loose to move through them and do not secure the cable to the center of the stud like a staple. I guess I could have run some of the cables past where I wanted to go, come down a different stud bay to below box, and then go through stud to come from below--but that would have required forethought--I don't have enough cable unless I re-run some. Not a big deal as they are short runs and if that is really best way I can do that, but don't want to do if there is easier way.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-26-09, 05:19 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 78
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ya by code in British columbia canada the 4 wire stacker is what is called for it.. If your going to use staples you could but they have to be within 12" of the box and if you cant make that work use the stacker.. its not like the wires will be moving around once the wall is enclosed
 
  #3  
Old 03-26-09, 09:51 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the stacker is about the easiest way to accomplish what you want. If the wall is totally open, the other thing you can do is put a cross stud across the bay but turn it so it is flat against the back where it leaves the front half of the stud cavity open.
 
  #4  
Old 03-27-09, 12:41 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Dry Side of Washington State
Posts: 738
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by hammerash View Post
OK, wiring a 4 gang box and I guess I never realized how many cables that involves, espcially when two of the switches are 4ways!
How many cables are you talking about?
 
  #5  
Old 03-27-09, 01:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 1,155
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
lets see

1. incoming power circuit 1 14/2
2. a 4 way switch 14/3
3. second wire to switch above 14/3
4. wire to light outside door 14/2
5. wire to spotlights behind garage 14/2
6 a second incoming power for different circuit 14/2
7. a 3 way switch (start of the second circuit) 14/

so looks like (4) 14/2 and (3) 14/3

and since mudroom floor is platform built on top of concrete, there is no running of cables from below. they all have to come from up top.

like idea of 2/4 flat against sheathing. may use that.

thanks
 
  #6  
Old 03-27-09, 05:57 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
sounds like you need to do a box fill calculation
 
  #7  
Old 03-27-09, 10:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 1,155
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I had checked before and wasn't even close. Actually can eliminate the 2nd circuit power 14/2 since I can bring the power in at switch in other room. But with what I had written before

4 14/2----16
3 14/3----18
ground----- 2
4 switches-16
-----------------
52

4 gang box--69 cu. in.

calculations look OK?
 
  #8  
Old 03-28-09, 10:54 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,946
Received 31 Votes on 27 Posts
Your calculation looks fine.
 
  #9  
Old 03-28-09, 08:32 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by hammerash View Post
I had checked before and wasn't even close. Actually can eliminate the 2nd circuit power 14/2 since I can bring the power in at switch in other room. But with what I had written before

4 14/2----16
3 14/3----18
ground----- 2
4 switches-16
-----------------
52

4 gang box--69 cu. in.

calculations look OK?
yes, if the box is 69 cube. I'll take your word for that.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: