No power at reset breaker

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-01-09, 05:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Norfolk VA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No power at reset breaker

I'm grounding a receptacle using a ground from another circuit. (safe , but doesn't meet code) I turned off both breakers, ran the ground, and added it to the ungrounded receptacle. I turned on the circuit breakers and the one for the newly grounded circuit didn't power the receptacle or the lights on that circuit. The whole circuit was dead. I turned off the breaker a couple of times and nothing happened. Finally, I disconnected the receptacle that I had just grounded, turned the power on, and the receptacle was hot and the lights worked.

Can a breaker have an intermittent problem such that on occasion there is no power to the circuit even though it is on?

Thanks,

Mikeyg
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-01-09, 06:44 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Finally, I disconnected the receptacle that I had just grounded, turned the power on, and the receptacle was hot and the lights worked.

Can a breaker have an intermittent problem such that on occasion there is no power to the circuit even though it is on?
Maybe intermittent problem with breaker but more likely the original connection at the receptacle. Reconnect the receptacle again, do not install in box and try it. You weren't using back-stab connections were you?
 
  #3  
Old 04-01-09, 06:49 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Finally, I disconnected the receptacle that I had just grounded, turned the power on, and the receptacle was hot and the lights worked.

Can a breaker have an intermittent problem such that on occasion there is no power to the circuit even though it is on?
Maybe intermittent problem with breaker but more likely the original connection at the receptacle. Reconnect the receptacle again and try it. You weren't using back-stab connections were you?
 
  #4  
Old 04-01-09, 06:57 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
safe , but doesn't meet code
No such thing, but lucky for you, you are incorrect about it not meeting code.
 
  #5  
Old 04-02-09, 11:17 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 54
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by John Nelson View Post
No such thing, but lucky for you, you are incorrect about it not meeting code.
Isn't there something in the code about all of the conductors have to be in the same cable?
 
  #6  
Old 04-02-09, 12:10 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Originally Posted by bobbsledd View Post
Isn't there something in the code about all of the conductors have to be in the same cable?
But the ground wire is not normally a conductor of current. It is only for clearing faults.
 
  #7  
Old 04-02-09, 12:20 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,001
Received 40 Votes on 35 Posts
Originally Posted by bobbsledd View Post
Isn't there something in the code about all of the conductors have to be in the same cable?
There is an exception that allows for this.
 
  #8  
Old 04-02-09, 08:44 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ideally, the grounding wire should run with the conductors. This allows for faster clearing of faults. But the code doesn't always demand the ideal solution.

It's a great myth that the code is unreasonable and demands things for reasons other than safety. The code is based on safety and nothing but safety. If you think the code is unreasonable, it's only because it is protecting you from some hazard that is not apparent to you. That's the value of the code. If all hazards were obvious, we probably wouldn't need the code.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: