Big electrical bill... why?

Old 04-04-09, 04:37 PM
Group Moderator
Received 298 Votes on 271 Posts
Big electrical bill... why?

Here's an interesting question...

My boss owns a small warehouse (40x60?), unheated, that is rarely occupied, lights are never on, outlets not in use except for a couple things that remain plugged in all the time. A radial arm saw, table saw, and a planer.

There is a small portable heater plugged into a small insulated room that we keep at around 50F in the winter.

The boss is complaining that the electrical bill seems way to high for the amount of electricity we should be using. Of course I have no idea because I'm a carpenter not an electrician!

So is there any way that power could be used even if there is nothing running? There are long runs of romex going to lights, outlets and such... do they use a lot of power even when they are not in use? Or could there be a short somewhere that is wasting electricity but is not throwing a breaker?

The bill does seem unusually high. But I don't know what to tell him.

Sponsored Links
Old 04-04-09, 04:48 PM
Super Moderator
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Come on X..need some numbers. A small heater can pull quite a bit if it runs all the time.

Using one in my garage ran the $ up almost $30 a month, and that was only for 3-4 hrs a day.

Nothing uses power when not used if its controlled by a switch. TV's, VCR's, PC's in standby...yes...lights and outlets...no.

Might also check for people tapping off if there is anyone else around.

Old 04-04-09, 05:02 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Look carefully at the bill. Separate out the part dependent on the amount of power used from the fixed part. The bill could be high merely because of the fixed part.

Old 04-04-09, 06:26 PM
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I'm thinking someone is tapping into your power
Any outdoor dusk-to-dawn lights?
Andy

Old 04-04-09, 06:43 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts