Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-07-09, 11:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 55
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?

I need to mount some junction boxes in my attic for some new wiring. Most junction boxes that I have seen are mounted on the wide face of a joist (location #2 on the image below) but is it acceptable to mount the junction box on "top" of the joist (location #1 on image below) ?

 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-08-09, 05:01 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
It is probably more "acceptable" to do it according to #1, since they must remain exposed. Using #2, they can become occluded by added insulation.
 
  #3  
Old 04-08-09, 08:00 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 339
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would agree to #1 as chandler stated. Now if you could I would try to fasten to the 2x6's shown in the picture about 2' from the floor. It looks like you might someday add about 12" of insulation to this area and that junction box would be exposed to anyone climbing around up there.

Jim
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: