Wiring 240v welder to 60 amp sub-panel service

Old 04-10-09, 03:31 PM
J
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring 240v welder to 60 amp sub-panel service

Wiring 240v welder to 60 amp sub-panel service.

I have 60 amps coming from the house to the garage. The house panel as 2 fuse of 30amps each. One fuse on one panel feed and the other on the other one.

In the garage I have a 2 pole breaker that is free. I connected a red wire on one pole and the black on the other. The white is on the neutral return.

Welder does not power up. Both wire have 120v on volt meter...

From what I was able to gather from this great forum of self-dowers such as me ;-) is that I might have to get power on one of my wires from an other free pole breaker because the double pole breaker I used is on the same frequency for both wires ?

Thanks for your support, would be nice to be able to weld my projects

Sponsored Links
Old 04-10-09, 03:46 PM
D
Well I am not an electrician, so wait until someone responds who knows what they are talking about.
Does the welder require a 60A service? If so it sounds like to me you are providing a 30A service for it. I'm pretty sure you dont add the two 30A conductors since they are on different phases. When you measure the black and red wire against each other at the same time in the garage do you get 240V? If your on different phases you should be able to measure accross them and come up with 240V and 120V to ground.
If your house only has a 30A service coming from it, which is probably #10 guage, you cannot install a larger breaker with out up-sizing the conductors too.
Good Luck
Dennis

Old 04-10-09, 03:49 PM
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
have 60 amps coming from the house to the garage. The house panel as 2 fuse of 30amps each. One fuse on one panel feed and the other on the other one.
You do not have 60a. You have 30a.
In the garage I have a 2 pole breaker that is free. I connected a red wire on one pole and the black on the other.