Abandon wire inside walls

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-19-09, 03:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 199
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Abandon wire inside walls

I'm moving some receptacles and will need to rewire some downstream outlets because of this. Is it OK to abandon unused wire in the walls? I was thinking about capping the hot and neutral and wrapping them in black electrical tape. Because they're stapled, I don't see how I can get them out of the walls.

Thanks // MarkDIY
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-19-09, 03:46 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
No electrical Pro, but from what I understand, cut it back, do as you suggest and label (with pen or perm marker) at both ends. Use something that won't degrade with time for the tag.
 
  #3  
Old 04-19-09, 04:00 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I was thinking about capping the hot and neutral and wrapping them in black electrical tape. Because they're stapled, I don't see how I can get them out of the walls.
If they are still live they can not be abandoned in the wall. If they aren't live no wire nuts needed. The fact you want to wire-nut them leads me to speculate they are still hot. If they are they must be terminated in an accessible Jbox.
 
  #4  
Old 04-19-09, 04:40 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 81
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by ray2047 View Post
If they are still live they can not be abandoned in the wall. If they aren't live no wire nuts needed. The fact you want to wire-nut them leads me to speculate they are still hot. If they are they must be terminated in an accessible Jbox.
To restate what ray2047 has said, if you know for absolute sure that both ends of this one cable are disconnected and there is no possible way power can ever travel on this one wire, you can abandon the cable. If not, you need to box all conductor terminations.

But, does the outlet absolutely have to move? Is it in the way of something or is this an esthetic choice?
 
  #5  
Old 04-19-09, 06:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 199
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am moving my stove and the current outlet will be right above it. I need to move it over to the right about 12 inches. The source is coming up from the bottom of the box and there is another line coming in from the top. The top line goes up the wall, across the ceiling and down the wall to another outlet. It will be hard to move both lines over to the right, especially since I need to cross a stud. I was going to abandon the top line and wire a new line in from the bottom that goes through the crawlspace and back up the wall to the outlet.
 
  #6  
Old 04-20-09, 09:04 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 81
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, well as said before, you can't abandon live wires in a wall. You need to be sure that there are no other splices in this cable from outlet to outlet such that the conductors might become live while inside the wall. You also can't put a splice in the wall. Following those guidelines use your judgment. If you're sure the cable can't become live, abandon it.

Btw, is there access above the ceiling?
 
  #7  
Old 04-20-09, 01:01 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If the existing outlet-box will be above the stove when the stove is moved , what prevents you from simply leaving the box in place as a splice-box , and sealing the box-opening with a blank plate ?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: