adding a outlet


  #1  
Old 05-01-09, 06:49 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: north fort myers,FL
Posts: 31
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
adding a outlet

I have a outlet on the inside wall of the house and I want to add a outlet behind this one that will be on the outside of the house ib the car port.How do I put the box from behind the other outlet so I can run the electric from one to the other
 
  #2  
Old 05-01-09, 07:13 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
If it is not kitchen, bathroom or dining room space it 2" above the top of the existing receptacle or 2" further to the side in the direction away from the stud or 2" below. It can be higher but when going to the side be sure you are in the same stud bay. Use a short piece of NM-B (Romex)* between them. The receptacle must be GFCI.

* #12=20 amp breaker #14- 15 amp breaker
 
  #3  
Old 05-01-09, 08:04 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: north fort myers,FL
Posts: 31
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is in the livingroom right next to the sliding glass door
 
  #4  
Old 05-01-09, 08:45 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
In the living it is ok to use it.
 
  #5  
Old 05-01-09, 08:56 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There may be a "KO" in the rear / back wall of the outlet-box. If so ,and if you can remove the "KO", then you can "link" the new / existing boxes together with nipple.
 
  #6  
Old 05-01-09, 05:50 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: north fort myers,FL
Posts: 31
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok.Another question,on the outside it is siding.What is the best way to find the back of the other outlet.Without drilling a bunch of holes in the siding
 
  #7  
Old 05-01-09, 06:13 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
Originally Posted by PATTBAA View Post
There may be a "KO" in the rear / back wall of the outlet-box. If so ,and if you can remove the "KO", then you can "link" the new / existing boxes together with nipple.
With respect this might not be a good idea. Sometimes the wall is not deep enough to have two boxes back to back. (Yes, been there done that.)
What is the best way to find the back of the other outlet.Without drilling a bunch of holes in the siding
Drill from the inside with a long 1/8" drill bit. You can get them 12" long but with siding a 6" long one may be enough.
 
  #8  
Old 05-01-09, 06:19 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northwestern Ontario (Canada)
Posts: 554
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
OP doesnt state location.. but up here at least, a carport receptacle must be on its own circuit from the panel (but you can also put carport lighting on the same circuit). It also has to be GFI protected (considered to be 'outside').
If the climate is cold, and you're going to be using a block heater on the circuit, you might find you're tripping breakers alot (what else is on this living room outlet circuit ?)
 
  #9  
Old 05-02-09, 09:57 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,389
Received 148 Votes on 131 Posts
In order to find the inside box just measure from a fixed point like the door frame and the floor.
 
  #10  
Old 05-02-09, 01:09 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: north fort myers,FL
Posts: 31
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am in florida.Dont have to worry about the cold.The only other things on that circuit is a couple of light sockets and the tv
 
  #11  
Old 05-09-09, 10:20 AM
jatco's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,077
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I was under the impression that an exterior outlet had to be on a dedicated (20amp) circuit (GFCI'd of course)?!?.
That's what I discovered on this site when I wanted to the same.. and did it that way.
 
  #12  
Old 05-09-09, 10:43 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,110
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Jatco..maybe different in CA? My house has exterior outlets tied to the garage and kitchen circuits (GFCI) look original, house built in '90. House in VA had 1 ext outlet in back, same circuit at garage as well.
 
  #13  
Old 05-09-09, 10:58 AM
jatco's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,077
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
That wouldnt suprise me.. but DaveC72 does mention that too, above..!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: