220V GFCI breaker

Old 05-03-09, 03:40 PM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
220V GFCI breaker

As you are probably aware already I am putting a hottub in my back yard. Most of the "cutoff" boxes seem to come with GFCI built in, so the simple thing would seem to be to use a regular breaker at the panel and the GFCI at the cutoff. I've not done a GFCI 220V breaker before, so the question is, does it need the neutral? The hot tub is 3-wire (no neutral needed for it) and the outlet required by code won't be on the same circuit, so I'm thinking I'll save a little $ by not pulling a neutral.

Also, I was planning to use 1" conduit, but with only 3 wires, maybe 3/4" would be fine? (50amp breaker, 120' of run, total)

Thanks!

Old 05-03-09, 04:43 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
I'm no electrician, but I don't think there are 220v GFCI's. Hang in there, and someone with more brain power then I can chime in.

Old 05-03-09, 04:44 PM
R
Yes, You will need a neutral for the GFCI breaker.

JimBeer 4U2

Old 05-03-09, 06:58 PM
Group Moderator
Received 290 Votes on 253 Posts
Most hot tubs require two hots and a neutral. You may want to double check the specs. Since you are running PVC pipe you will also need a ground.

I would also suggest the Cutler Hammer tub disconnect. It has the GFCI breaker plus 2 extra slots for a receptacle.

I suggest sticking with the 1" PVC can be tough to pull through sometimes.

Old 05-03-09, 07:38 PM
F
Yeah there is 220 volt GFCI breaker on market.

Most hottubs in the states are useally have two hot conductors and netural very few hot tubs do have straight 240 volt set up.

Keep in your mind with disconnection switch the codes will require them withen 5 feet IIRC.

Most hot tub installment I useally dealt with it most case it will be wise to run with 1 inch PVC conduit it make it little more easier to pull it thru the conduit and also make sure the ground conductor is green the bare conductor in this area is not allowed