Gfci

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-14-09, 10:02 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,450
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Gfci

Should a Washing Machine have a GFCI outlet? I installed one the other day and now it's tripping. I know it's wired correctly, maybe I have a bad GFCI.

Thanks,
Brian
 
  #2  
Old 05-14-09, 10:04 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,942
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
Yes, generally it should be on a GFCI circuit. You could try a different brand of GFCI receptacle.
 
  #3  
Old 05-14-09, 10:12 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,450
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Alright, thanks, I installed a smartlock pro, they're kinda expensive, you would think they would all be good but I guess not...

Brian
 
  #4  
Old 05-14-09, 10:15 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,942
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
You also can't discount the possibility that the washing machine is faulty.
 
  #5  
Old 05-14-09, 10:24 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,450
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK Thanks,

I'll change the GFCI and if it trips again I'll call repair. I thought of something, is a washing machine supposed to have an external ground (chassis to water pipe), or is this a thing of the past? I seem to remember seeing a ground wire on some machines.

Brian
 
  #6  
Old 05-14-09, 10:35 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,942
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
The external ground is not installed anymore. Is the washer pretty old?
 
  #7  
Old 05-14-09, 10:46 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,450
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No, it's fairly new. Like I said, I'll switch out the GFCI and if it's still a problem I'll get it looked at.

Appreciate your help,
Brian
 
  #8  
Old 05-14-09, 10:59 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 191
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
According to Section 210.8 of the NEC, a GFCI is only required for this outlet if it is within 6 feet of a sink. I suspect the motor could be leaking a small amount of current to ground. Not really a safety issue if the grounding is done correctly at the machine, but it could indicate the motor might fail soon.

If the GFCI is not required, I would replace it with a normal outlet.
 
  #9  
Old 05-14-09, 11:11 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,450
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It could very well be the motor. It trips at the point when the machine is done filling up with water and the motor kicks in. This happens on every cycle (rinse, spin, etc.). When it's filling or agitating, it works fine. So it seems when there's a sudden current draw, it will trip. The washer is on a 20amp dedicated circuit.

Brian
 
  #10  
Old 05-14-09, 11:43 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,450
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I just switched out the GFCI and it still trips when the motor kicks in.... Bummer.... Should I get the machine looked at?

Thanks
Brian
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: