Running Romex on steel beam

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-17-09, 10:38 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: canada
Posts: 345
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Running Romex on steel beam

I searched the forum but did not find the answer
Can I run romex along the web of an I steel beam to span the width of my unfinish basement so I dont have to make more holes in the joists

I can secure vertical blocks between the top and bottom flanges and staple the Romex to the blocks.

The top flange has a bunch of 1/2 holes,wondering if I can use them to run the wires from the joists to the web.

Is this set up OK if one day I finish the basement and box the beam?
Thank you
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-17-09, 11:17 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
As long as you will be closing it up and the romex will be protected, there should be no problem any larger than running romex across any beam or joisting system.
 
  #3  
Old 05-17-09, 05:48 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,339
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
As always, check local requirements.

Here are some beam clips intended for use with MC or AC. You may be able to find something similar for Romex.

CADDY Cable Snap Clip
 
  #4  
Old 05-18-09, 03:13 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,151
Received 87 Votes on 74 Posts
I have used the wood blocks inside the web like you described. I cut them tight and put some construction adhesive to hold them to the web. Staple the cables to the blocks.
 
  #5  
Old 05-18-09, 08:34 PM
S
Member
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Big Red Country
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Perfectly legal as long as its not subject to damage. Use common sense and you will be ok.
 
  #6  
Old 05-18-09, 08:36 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,807
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That will be no issue if done right as few poster menton few good ways to do this.

Merci,Marc
 
  #7  
Old 05-18-09, 08:39 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: canada
Posts: 345
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for replies

Originally Posted by chandler View Post
As long as you will be closing it up and the romex will be protected, there should be no problem any larger than running romex across any beam or joisting system.
Im not shure why I need to close it up
[box it?]to protect the wire staple to the side [web] of the steel beam but there is no need to close the joist space when wires are staple to the joists side
 
  #8  
Old 05-19-09, 07:25 PM
S
Member
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Big Red Country
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Its all about affording protection to the wire, that's all. For example, you cannot run your Romex on the bottom of the joists, either parallel or perpindicular to the joists (without some kind of running board or some other protection).

Same goes for the attic, only this time you would be on top of the joists, or in some cases, the rafters.
 
  #9  
Old 05-20-09, 04:30 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Rodel, you mentioned "box the beam" in your OP, so I was under the impression you would finish the area. Maybe I misinterpreted what you were doing. Running the cable through the web of a series of beam trusses doesn't need support if you are finishing it off and protecting the cable. If you won't be closing it up, then you will need the mentioned support methods.

Larry
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: