Running Power to a Detached Garage

Old 05-17-09, 11:44 PM
G
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Talking Running Power to a Detached Garage

I am very new to electrical work in general so please bare with me. I recently moved into my grandmother's house to help take care of her; and in the backyard there is a decent sized garage with no power.

The main panel box is around 50-60 feet away from the garage area where power is desired. There is plenty enough room for extra circuits to be run to the garage. Although, I only need one circuit run from the panel to the garage because I only plan on wiring lights for the area which is mainly for storage anyway.

What I am wondering is... What size wire should I use? What breaker size will do? How deep should the ditch be dug? What size and type conduit should I use to run the wire?

And if I decide to have a receptacle or two, the Code says it must be a GFCI, correct?

Thank yall!

Sponsored Links
Old 05-18-09, 12:45 AM
If it's just for lights you can use a relatively small breaker, but make shure it has an rcd. You have two options with cable, you either burry a very deep trench, or you buy armoured cable, and run it at any hight you want.

Old 05-18-09, 01:10 AM
F
Originally Posted by 07bloomfieldb View Post
If it's just for lights you can use a relatively small breaker, but make shure it has an rcd. You have two options with cable, you either burry a very deep trench, or you buy armoured cable, and run it at any hight you want.

Hello Mate.,, the OP is in Texas USA so the code is somehow diffrent than the UK code requirement so let me run the USA code requirement to this OP { yeah I am famiur with your stuff Beer 4U2 and I am well verised with USA and French system }

Now for the OP .,