solution for small breaker

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-31-09, 01:25 AM
Z
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 433
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
solution for small breaker

I have a situation where I have 20 3 phase machines that draw a total of 120 amps. These machines are fed via 1/0 cable connected to a 100 amp breaker. The panel is a Square D QO series and unfortunately they dont make anything larger than tht 100 amp breaker.

Can anyone tell me if there is a way to split the load to 2 breakers without doing major wiring changes?
 

Last edited by zizanio; 05-31-09 at 01:58 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-31-09, 02:52 AM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by zizanio View Post
I have a situation where I have 20 3 phase machines that draw a total of 120 amps. These machines are fed via 1/0 cable connected to a 100 amp breaker. The panel is a Square D QO series and unfortunately they dont make anything larger than tht 100 amp breaker.

Can anyone tell me if there is a way to split the load to 2 breakers without doing major wiring changes?
If you have 3 phase QO series load centre and if you have 200 amp or larger main breaker or main lugs load centre yeah there is a beast on market but it not going be cheap btw.

this is a subpanel or what ??

need more info here

Also if this is a commercal building you will have to get a hold of electrician to deal with this due the safety issue there.

They will able check it out to see what is the correct way to fix this situation is.

Merci,Marc
 
  #3  
Old 05-31-09, 06:54 AM
Z
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 433
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is the Square D push in type, main panel 225 amp main lugs. There is a separate 200 amp disconnect breaker/enclosure.

Originally Posted by french277V View Post
If you have 3 phase QO series load centre and if you have 200 amp or larger main breaker or main lugs load centre yeah there is a beast on market but it not going be cheap btw.

this is a subpanel or what ??

need more info here

Also if this is a commercal building you will have to get a hold of electrician to deal with this due the safety issue there.

They will able check it out to see what is the correct way to fix this situation is.

Merci,Marc
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: