Proper Air Conditioner Wiring

Old 06-02-09, 08:28 PM
P
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Proper Air Conditioner Wiring

Hello. I recently bought a house with a Lennox AC unit and need to re-wire it up. I am by no means an electrician or an Air Conditioner repairman, but I am deft with my hands and a willing learner (and also very willing to save a few bucks).

THE UNIT:
Lennox 10acc-060-230-04
Nominal Voltage 208/230 1 phase 60 hz (min 197 max 253)
RLA 26.6
LRA 170
Fan Motor FLA 1.9 HP 1/3
Min Ckt Ampacity 35.2
Max fuse / Ckt Bkr (HACR) per NEC fusable/coupe circuit 60

WHAT IS THERE NOW:
60amp double breaker; Type SE Cable Style U THHN or THWN CDRS 3 CDRS #8 CU 600 VOLTS E73061 <UL> ( 8-2 Cu SE cable, I am guessing); 60amp non-fusible disconnect box (broken); three #8 CU THHN wires from the disconnect box to the AC unit (wires are charred inside the disconnect box, needs replacement)

THE AC REPAIRMAN RECOMMENDED:
60amp double breaker (leave as is)
New 6-2 Cu Romex
New 60amp fusible disconnect box
New time-delay fuses
and quoted an arm and a leg for his services

I feel this is a very doable job, but am simply not entirely sure of the materials needed to ensure my house does not give into involuntary pyrotechnics in future days to come. Any recommendation or insight on wire size, disconnect box type, size, and whether the fuses are really needed and how they work, would be greatly appreciated. Thank you very much.

P.S. The electric panel is about 55 feet from my AC unit; the basement is unfinished.

Sponsored Links
Old 06-02-09, 09:23 PM
nap
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
well, I do not see any need for the fuses (and the fusible disco). A non-fused disco would be fine. Not sure why he would put in a fusible disco with the same size fuses as the breaker. It does not provide any real benefit.