Sub Panel Install

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-08-09, 05:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SouthEast Minnesota
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Sub Panel Install

So I have a GE ProMark GOld Main Panel and a GE Pro Mark Gold Sub Panel. The two panels are 55 feet apart and the subpanel is 100 AMPs. I have the 2 AWG aluminum wire run between the panels and the sub panel mounted.

The Sub Panel does not come with the ground bar, but I would like to remove the bonding strap between the two neutral bars and use the left most bar for my ground.

Will this work?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-08-09, 10:05 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
Originally Posted by DwightKeenan View Post
I have the 2 AWG aluminum wire run between the panels and the sub panel mounted.
If you are on 2008 code, #2 aluminum is not acceptable for a 100A panel. I think MN has already switched to '08 code.

The Sub Panel does not come with the ground bar, but I would like to remove the bonding strap between the two neutral bars and use the left most bar for my ground.
If the bar is solidly connected to the metal panel box it can be used as a ground bar.
 
  #3  
Old 06-08-09, 10:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SouthEast Minnesota
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by ibpooks View Post
If you are on 2008 code, #2 aluminum is not acceptable for a 100A panel. I think MN has already switched to '08 code.



If the bar is solidly connected to the metal panel box it can be used as a ground bar.
How do I find out the code we are on?

I have the green screw that came with the sub panel, so I shoudl just have to run that through the ground bar to make it solidly connected, right?
 
  #4  
Old 06-08-09, 11:14 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
If both don't have a bonding screw or strap to the box use the one with the bonding screw or strap to the box for the ground bar. As already written yes disconnect the connecting strap and remove any bonding connection on the other.

Edit: Yes, use the green bonding screw on the one that will be used as a ground bus.
 
  #5  
Old 06-08-09, 11:16 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SouthEast Minnesota
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by ray2047 View Post
If both don't have a bonding screw or strap to the box use the one with the bonding screw or strap to the box for the ground bar. As already written yes disconnect the connecting strap and remove any bonding connection on the other.
THe one side has a lug for the neutral wire, so I am pretty confident it isn't bonded to the box. FOr the other side, it has the green screw for bonding it to the box. THe instructions are vague, but I assume that I can put that screw thorugh the hole where the Lug would be if it were the Neutral bar.
 
  #6  
Old 06-08-09, 11:49 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I assume that I can put that screw thorugh the hole where the Lug would be if it were the Neutral bar.
Yes, through the hole into the box to make it the ground bar.
 
  #7  
Old 06-08-09, 01:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SouthEast Minnesota
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ray2047,

Thanks for helping.
 
  #8  
Old 06-08-09, 02:19 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
Originally Posted by DwightKeenan View Post
How do I find out the code we are on?
Ask the inspector or look at the paperwork when you get the permit.
 
  #9  
Old 06-13-09, 07:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SouthEast Minnesota
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So I removed the bonding strip and put the bonding screw on the side of the panel that is going to be dedicated for the ground. I received my lug kit in the mail today and have a question about installing it.

It isn't the cube that sits on the bar, it is the L shaped one that sits off of the bar. I was wondering if it would be okay to mount the lug kit in the same hole that held the bonding strap in place? This way it is out of the way and isn't using up any of the holes in the bar. I may have to break a small piece of black plastic clip that holds the bar in place, but with the bonding screw there now, it won't move any way.

What do you think?
 
  #10  
Old 06-13-09, 08:32 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by DwightKeenan View Post
How do I find out the code we are on?
The state of Minnestoa is allready on 2008 NEC code cycle.

You can check with the city hall where you get the permits and they will tell you the latest code cycle plus some local codes if they have it along the way.

Merci,Marc
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: