GFCI not working to pool

Old 06-09-09, 07:39 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
GFCI not working to pool

I'm new at this so please be patient. I will try to explain this as best as I can. I would appreciate any help!

I bought a house back in September that has a pool. The pool has a post next to it with a GFCI and an "on and off" switch for the pump. It has conduit running from there, underground to a post on the porch, which also has a receptacle, which by the way is NOT a GFCI. The GFCI by the pool quit working when we moved in. It was working at one time because it was running the pump both times my wife and I looked at the house before we bought it. The outlet under the porch still works, because from what I can see in the conduit that runs to it, there's a seperate wire for it, which I think is a #12.

My question is, do I have to dig up the conduit and replace that whole #12 wire? I want to sure that there's nothing else I can do before I start the digging process. Any ideas?

By the way, the guy who sold us the house said he replaced the receptacle by the pool. I don't know if it was a GFCI or not, which I know it's suppose to be. I replaced the GFCI and the switch, but no luck. I also tried replacing the receptacle under the porch with a GFCI, but it didn't work either. It only works with a non-GFCI.

Sponsored Links
Old 06-09-09, 08:03 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 40 Votes on 35 Posts
If I understand your setup the non-GFI receptacle under the porch works and this also feeds the conduit going to the pool pump receptacle.

Have you taken voltage reading at the pool receptacle form both hot to ground and hot to neutral?

Since you have conduit you should not have to dig. If the wires are bad you can pull in new wires using the old wires to pull the new wires into the conduit.

Old 06-09-09, 08:12 AM
Originally Posted by pcboss View Post