Low Voltage Landscape Qs

Old 06-22-09, 06:00 PM
B
Received 5 Upvotes on 4 Posts
Low Voltage Landscape Qs

I'm a novice Elelctric DIY'er and am looking at putting in some low voltage landscape lighting. A few questions:

- i'm thinking the same basic principals apply in that i can splice different runs of wire together? Or does this stuff have to be wired in seqence? i was hoping to design a few different runs out fro mone main "junction" box.

- just add up the wattage of the fixtures, multiply by somethign like 80%, and that tells me the wattage of the transformer needed?

- anything with length of the run of wire that might affect the performance? like a voltage drop or anything?

thats all i can think of now -- couldnt find these q's online here.

Old 06-22-09, 06:58 PM
Group Moderator
Received 877 Upvotes on 740 Posts
Originally Posted by bheron
- i'm thinking the same basic principals apply in that i can splice different runs of wire together? Or does this stuff have to be wired in seqence? i was hoping to design a few different runs out fro mone main "junction" box.
I suggest running a "feeder" off the transformer and then tap off that for each light. Most low voltage kits come with a running tap just for such purpose or you can buy them separately. Low voltage lighting does not require splices to be in a box. Just use connectors rated for outside.

- just add up the wattage of the fixtures, multiply by somethign like 80%, and that tells me the wattage of the transformer needed?
No need for 80%. Just add up the max watts of the fixtures and choose a transformer to handle at least that much. I suggest getting an over sized one unless your sure you will never add any more.

- anything with length of the run of wire that might affect the performance? like a voltage drop or anything?
Low voltage is more susceptible to voltage drop. If your doing a long run you will just need to up the size of the main feeder wire (cable)

Old 06-22-09, 07:02 PM
B