Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Question about electrical code and meter base installation

Question about electrical code and meter base installation


  #1  
Old 06-23-09, 12:10 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question about electrical code and meter base installation

Hi,

I'm installing a meter base as part of my PV solar array on my garage. I'd like to use the same knock-out hole on the meter base for 'service' entry AND exit, to reduce the number of holes in my garage wall. Does electrical code allow for service entry and exit through the same knock out on the meter base ?

I have a similar situation for my disconnect switch.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Dan
 
  #2  
Old 06-23-09, 12:25 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,942
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
I can't imagine any way that could be done within code. If you use cables, the cables must be one-per-clamp. If you use conduit, the conduits are going to different places so it wouldn't make sense.

Perhaps a picture or more detailed description would help define the situation?
 
  #3  
Old 06-23-09, 04:33 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,251
Received 112 Votes on 97 Posts
Isn't there a meter already installed for the utility power? Why would you like to install this new socket?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: