OK to run cable diagonally through joists?

Old 07-18-09, 03:06 PM
H
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

So used to running cables at right angles that I wasn't sure if it was OK. I have some recessed lights that are arranged in diamond pattern and would be easier to run wire directly from one to next diagonally through joists, but wasn't sure if inspectors wanted things run either along joists or in straight line through them. I thought I had read somewhere not to run diagonally, but I can't find that now.

Old 07-18-09, 03:41 PM
Group Moderator
Received 371 Votes on 321 Posts
I see no problem with it and have never had any inspectors have any problems with it.

Old 07-18-09, 03:51 PM

I am not a code expert, but I could see a potential problem depending on how much of an angle the "cable" runs at.

Anytime you have a diagonal, the unsupported length increases. This could be legal according to the code, but a sloppy installation could lead to a messy situation and cable too close to the ceiling below.

After all, the code is just the worst you can do and still be legal, but it may not be right or the best way to go. - If you run diagonally, take photos so you know where the junk might be.

Dick

Old 07-18-09, 03:52 PM
Super Moderator
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Never thought about it..but I'd say make sure your holes are 90 degrees..that might cause someone to look?

Dunno if theres a rule...just never seen a 45 degree hole through one....

Old 07-18-09, 04:11 PM
H