Need help with conduit fill calculations

Old 07-28-09, 02:12 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help with conduit fill calculations

I need to bring a bunch of NM-B cables into a junction box and transition all of them to THHN inside EMT. I have a few questions as I've never done anything on this scale before.

Here's what I have:

2 6/2 AL
1 10/3 CU
1 10/2 CU
1 12/3 CU
2 12/2 CU
5 14/2 CU

I'll convert the 6/2 aluminum to copper in the junction box, so those become #8 with #10 ground.

What I came up with is:

4 #8
9 #10
10 #12
15 #14

Based upon entering those numbers into a conduit fill excel spreadsheet I downloaded, it says I need 1-1/2" EMT. Is there more to this than I have presented? The calculator did a 40% fill. What about derating?

Sponsored Links
Old 07-28-09, 09:46 AM
Group Moderator
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
Originally Posted by kornbln View Post
What I came up with is:

4 #8
9 #10
10 #12
15 #14

Based upon entering those numbers into a conduit fill excel spreadsheet I downloaded, it says I need 1-1/2" EMT. Is there more to this than I have presented? The calculator did a 40% fill. What about derating?
Will all your wires above be THHN?

Old 07-28-09, 10:04 AM
Originally Posted by Tolyn Ironhand View Post
Will all your wires above be THHN?
Yes. They will all be THHN.

Old 07-28-09, 04:32 PM
What I came up with is:

4 #8
9 #10
10 #12
15 #14

Please tell us what it is your doing. Up front I can tell that derating is going to make this an ugly design.... Even if we can consider neutrals in the 3 conductor cables.

Only one ground is needed or you can use the emt. But multiple runs of conduit are likely to make this work.

For example all these in one pipe your #8, if its thwn-2 or thhn, will derate to a useable 25 amps. The 14's will be below 15 amps making them unusable and you get the idea I think.

Old 07-28-09, 08:45 PM