220V relay question

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-06-09, 09:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
220V relay question

I'm trying to wire a thermostat relay (24V coil) to control a 220V A/C unit. The whole unit runs off of two 'hot' wires, one black, one white (supposed to be black). My question is: what kind of relay (SPDT, DPST, DPDT, etc) do I need? I think I will need a DPDT, dual pole dual throw relay. If so, which wires go where?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-07-09, 04:33 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: VA.
Posts: 813
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
You would just need to get something like this Dayton 2UTL4 Definite Purpose Contactor with a 24 volt coil. You can get one like this or a 2 pole.
Your line leads would just terminate on the top 2 poles and load out of the bottom. Of course your 24 volts would terminate on the coil.
It would also need to be in some sort of enclosure.
 
  #3  
Old 08-07-09, 11:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks a lot, I definitely need a definite purpose contactor like you said; smaller DPDT relays won't handle the amperage I'm needing. Another question, though: when I was trying to wire it to a smaller relay, sometimes the breaker would throw, sort of. It wouldn't go all the way to the "on" position. I would change up my wiring, re-throw it, and it would be fine. What does it mean when a breaker is doing this?
 
  #4  
Old 08-08-09, 03:43 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: VA.
Posts: 813
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Sounds like there was a dead short in your wiring.
 
  #5  
Old 08-08-09, 09:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yep, that was it. I had it wired with a single-pole switch, and one way I had it, it must have been connecting black (120V positive) to white (120V negative), throwing the breaker. Thanks a lot. Let me just be sure, 2 pole contactor, 220V: black and white line in the top, black and white load out the bottom, 24V lines wired to the coil, no thrown breaker, correct?
 
  #6  
Old 08-09-09, 06:01 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: VA.
Posts: 813
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Sounds like you got it licked. Be sure to re-identify those white wires as ungrounded (tape with black/red tape or similar except green)Beer 4U2
 
  #7  
Old 08-09-09, 09:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks a lot. I'll definitely re-label the wires. It would have saved me a lot of guesswork if they were colored correctly in the first place.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: