sub-panel wire size

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-11-09, 07:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 69
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
sub-panel wire size

Hi all,

I recently had my electrical service upgraded to 200A, as I've added a second floor addition. In the interest of not having to run a bunch of wires from the space of the new addition down through the walls and into the basement service panel, I plan to add a 100A sub-panel in the addition that will be fed from the main panel. I'm curious what size wire you would suggest feed the sub-panel. The distance between the two panel will approx. 15-feet.

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-11-09, 08:47 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 339
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Are you going to run this in conduit or SER wire?
Thanks!
JimBeer 4U2
 
  #3  
Old 08-11-09, 09:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 69
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
At this point, I'm anticipating running it through conduit along the outside of the house.
 
  #4  
Old 08-11-09, 09:11 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
Through conduit I would recommend copper THHN wire in #3 for the hots and neutral and #8 green or bare for the ground. The minimum size conduit you can use for these wires is 1", however 1-1/4" will probably be better if there are any bends or LB fittings to pull through.

Do you have a good subpanel location? Clearance can sometimes be tough to get in a second floor.
 
  #5  
Old 08-11-09, 09:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 69
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the suggestion As far as location of the sub-panel, I have plenty of options thankfully. The house addition I had built is a shell-only, so I'll be doing all the interior/finishing work. Therefore, the walls are currently open and 2x6 construction which leaves many location options. I will likely need an LB fitting, so 1.25" conduit may be the better choice for ease/convenience.

Thanks again!
 
  #6  
Old 08-11-09, 11:53 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 339
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
As ibpooks quoted #3 would be the wire. Just so you know it's hard in some places to find #3 wire and if you can't then go with #2 copper.

Jim
 
  #7  
Old 08-11-09, 07:14 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,843
Received 41 Votes on 40 Posts
Originally Posted by H8Mondays View Post
As far as location of the sub-panel, I have plenty of options thankfully.
Just remember that you need a 'refrigerator box' area in front of the panel. Clearance 30" left to right, 36" in front, and 6' 6" tall. Also remember it can't be in a clothes closet or in a bathroom.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: