buzzing noise in junction box

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-12-09, 11:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ontario, canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
buzzing noise in junction box

Hi all,

I noticed there was some kind of buzzing noise in a junction box in the basement. I don't think that is a breaker box. Here is a photo of the inside of the box.



Any suggestions would be appreciated!

Thanks!

Kevin
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-13-09, 04:45 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: VA.
Posts: 813
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
This is a contactor inside the box and switching (turning on/off)
2 circuits.
The buzzing sound is the coil is energized and the contacts are pulled in.

It may be possibly for some outside lights, for example. A photo cell is turning the contactor on and off and the contactor is switching the load.

The reason for the contactor is, whatever is running the contactor, can't handle the load to be served and/or can't handle 2 circuits.

The 2 cables coming in on the left appear to be the line side, while the 2 on the right appear to be the load side. The one, top left, appears to be feeding the coil on the contactor.
 
  #3  
Old 08-13-09, 08:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ontario, canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi wirenut1110,

Thanks for the information. There are some security system in the basement (Not in use right now). It could be the one that turns the contactor on and off. Since I am not using the security system, can I simply disconnect it? If so, which line or lines should I disconnect?

And you are right about the side. Left side is line and right is load.

Thanks!

Kevin
 
  #4  
Old 08-13-09, 04:40 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: VA.
Posts: 813
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Yes you can disconnect it.

If you're just concerned with the noise you can find the circuit that's feeding the coil (top left) turn it off and then disconnect the coil wire(s) and cap them(the ones with the spade connectors on them).

Keep in mind that there's several circuits run in there so even though you may turn that off, circuits will still be hot. (IF this is even high voltage)

I would leave everything there if you're not 100% sure what it's doing, it may go to something we don't know about yet.
 
  #5  
Old 08-15-09, 08:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ontario, canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks wirenut1110. Looks I have some home work to do
 
  #6  
Old 08-16-09, 03:15 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Before you can disconnet follow the conductor to see where it goes first some case the contractor is used for both water heater and A/C compressor by using one leg of it to switch it on or off

so check it out first then decided what to do next and let us know what you find out.

Merci,Marc
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: