Easy way to power a 230v air compressor?

Old 08-15-09, 10:57 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Easy way to power a 230v air compressor?

I just bought a used 230v 5hp Campbell hausfeld Air compressor. It has a power cord that was cut, without the plug, exposing green, white, and red wires.

What is the quickest, simplest way to power this thing. I have a dryer connection and also the circuit switches near by.

I heard about direct connection to circuit switches, how do I do this?

If I want to use dryer plug, can I just buy the dryer cord and connect it to the G,R,W wires and plug it into the dryer outlet? which color goes to which on the dryer cord?

Please let me know the simplest, easiest, and cheapest. I have very little knowledge about electrical. The most I've ever done is replacing fuses and electrical outlets around the house.

Thanks a lot.

Sponsored Links
Old 08-16-09, 02:40 AM
Will this air compressor be in attached garage or detached garage that will make the diffrence on the code and how to run the conductors in proper way.

As soon we know the answer we will steer you in the correct way.

Merci,Marc

Old 08-16-09, 06:16 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 166 Votes on 147 Posts
Unless I'm mistaken, a dryer outlet is 30 amp and the compressor is probably 15 amp, maybe 20....... or does that make a difference?

Old 08-16-09, 10:47 AM
Originally Posted by french277V View Post
Will this air compressor be in attached garage or detached garage that will make the diffrence on the code and how to run the conductors in proper way.

Merci,Marc
The air compressor is portable with wheels, but I don't plan to move it any where, I have a long air hose.

Also, it is 15amp for the compressor, I think the dryer outlet is 30amp. I'm in the USA where the power is 110v with dryer at 230v.

Old 08-16-09, 11:10 AM
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts