Oversized Subpanel Breaker Question

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-17-09, 02:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oversized Subpanel Breaker Question

I have a concern over whether this setup is to code.

I have 150A service to my house into the main panel. I have a 50A breaker, run through #6 wire, to a subpanel in my workshop. The subpanel is a 100A panel with a 100A breaker in it.

The subpanel should never see more than 50A since it is protected by a 50A breaker on the main panel.

Would this be considered a code violation?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-17-09, 03:21 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: VA.
Posts: 813
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
No it's not a code violation, that is a pretty standard way of doing it.
The 50 amp breaker is your overcurrent and short circuit protection of that circuit so, as long as everything is at least rated 50 amps then your fine.

The 100 amp breaker is just a "means of disconnect".
 
  #3  
Old 08-17-09, 04:08 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,967
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
The 50 amp breaker is protecting your #6 wire and the sub panel. The sub panel is rated for a max of 100 amps. You are under that. As Wirenut posted, you are just fine.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: