AFCI question

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-18-09, 07:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Just outside of Phila
Posts: 350
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
AFCI question

I am going to run a new 20 amp circuit to serve 2 bedroom Window Air Conditioners that total approx 1600 watts. My question is since these receptacles will be located in a bedroom do I need to use an AFCI Breaker? Should I also use simplex receptacles? Thanks

John
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-18-09, 08:16 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,967
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
Depending if your area is using 2005 NEC code or later. If it is then yes, you are required to install AFCI's. If you are on the 2008 Code cycle you would be required to install AFCI's in almost any location except for kitchens or bathrooms.

It is your choice to use simplex receptacles or not. There is no requirement. Since you are feeding two air conditioners on the same circuit you may use either 15 or 20 amp receptacles.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: