AFCI question


  #1  
Old 08-18-09, 06:59 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Just outside of Phila
Posts: 350
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
AFCI question

I am going to run a new 20 amp circuit to serve 2 bedroom Window Air Conditioners that total approx 1600 watts. My question is since these receptacles will be located in a bedroom do I need to use an AFCI Breaker? Should I also use simplex receptacles? Thanks

John
 
  #2  
Old 08-18-09, 07:16 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,126
Received 348 Votes on 301 Posts
Depending if your area is using 2005 NEC code or later. If it is then yes, you are required to install AFCI's. If you are on the 2008 Code cycle you would be required to install AFCI's in almost any location except for kitchens or bathrooms.

It is your choice to use simplex receptacles or not. There is no requirement. Since you are feeding two air conditioners on the same circuit you may use either 15 or 20 amp receptacles.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: