How much can a 15 amp breaker take?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-23-09, 04:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How much can a 15 amp breaker take?

All the lights in the basement as well as my home theatre system currently run on this single 15 amp breaker. Would be able to also run 2 fridges on the same 15 amp circuit without it blowing?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-23-09, 04:11 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You need to add up the amps of everything on it but two refrigerators would probably push it close to or over the limit.
 
  #3  
Old 08-23-09, 05:08 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Most fridges pull at a minimum of 5.8 amps, some much more, so 2 of them on the same circuit with what you have already would be more than the breaker could take.
 
  #4  
Old 08-24-09, 08:55 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
I would recommend that you do not put the fridges on the same circuit as the home theater equipment.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: