Adding an outlet/switch combo to an existing switch

Old 08-25-09, 05:31 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Adding an outlet/switch combo to an existing switch

Hello, this is one of my first posts, and also one of my first electrical DIY projects. I have previously installed recessed lighting throughout my basement, so I'm not a total novice, but this is one of those little things that I definitely want some advice on.

So basically, I have two switches on either end of my garage. Both control the overhead fixture. I want to replace one of the switches with an outlet/switch combo (I need a place to plug in my radio).

Here is the existing switch (from both sides):

And I suppose I'll be using a 3-way switch/receptacle combination. Something like this I guess...

Leviton Leviton 3-Way Switch/Receptacle (Non-Grounding Switch) - Switch/Outlet - Leviton 5245 - LevitonProducts.com

Can anyone walk me through this? Thank you so much...

- Nick

Last edited by mickberna; 08-25-09 at 06:07 PM.
Sponsored Links
Old 08-25-09, 06:05 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
The switch you picture won't work as you need a three way switch/receptacle combo. You are lucky in a way, since you have power coming into one of the switches (you will have to determine which one) and place the switch there. Here's an example of what you need Leviton Duplex Combination Switch, 3-Way Toggle Switch & Receptacle, Commercial Grade - White - Westside Wholesale Store View

Old 08-25-09, 06:08 PM
Funny, I just edited my post because I realized I need a 3-way switch, and you posted your reply at that very moment. Heh! Okay, but if I have the correct item, this shouldn't be a problem?

Old 08-25-09, 06:09 PM
Received 25 Votes on 19 Posts