Circuit breaker

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-26-09, 02:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Circuit breaker

Hi,
I am going to wire my shed using a 40 amp sub panel with 2 20 amp breakers. I'll have 1 circuit for lights and the other for outlets. I probably won't be doing anything heavy duty out there. I have run 10/3 underground cable from the Main panel in the house which is about a 100 ft. run. The Main panel is a 100 amp service. I have room in the main panel for a double pole breaker. What size breaker should I use in the main panel to feed my 40 amp sub panel in the shed?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-26-09, 02:16 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 233
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You didn't say how far it was from house to shed..??

10/3 wg UF direct bury cable can only be breakered at maximum 30 amps.

To be code compliant many extra things need to be discussed. If your intetrested in what those are then post back.
 
  #3  
Old 08-26-09, 03:12 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You could use the wire you have and run a 20a multi-wire circuit. In that case you would not need a subpanel but would two 20a circuits.
 
  #4  
Old 09-01-09, 04:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am 75 ft. from house to shed, what else do you need to know for it to be code compliant?
 
  #5  
Old 09-01-09, 05:37 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,915
Received 24 Votes on 20 Posts
A 2-pole 30 with a back feed clip would suit your needs.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: