Installing ceiling light fixtures, Six wires to deal with

Old 08-27-09, 07:16 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Installing ceiling light fixtures, Six wires to deal with

I am an electrical novice, but when installing light fixtures in my small 1924 Los Angeles home (updated to modern electrical wiring at some point), I was successful in several of the rooms. But when I came to the last room (office), there were six wires coming out of the ceiling box: 2 white, 2 black and 2 copper. When I installed a fixture, the light came on but then stayed on (the light switch doesn't turn it off) and a light in another room went out. I have since tried different random configurations all with no luck. The light in the other room continues to not work. But they do work in several other rooms.

I will add that many of the rooms had ceiling fans in them which were removed when I moved in which I think accounts for extra wires in some of the other boxes (others had 1 black, 1 white, 1 red, and 1 copper). I am installing regular light fixtures with no fans.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Sponsored Links
Old 08-27-09, 07:37 PM
Group Moderator
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
there were six wires coming out of the ceiling box: 2 white, 2 black and 2 copper
Actually 4 wires plus grounds. I'll guess two cables. Please confirm. You need to determine which cable is hot. Check for voltage between the black and white of each cable. After finding which cable is hot turn the power off and use the ohm function of your multimeter to check for continuity of the other cable. Have a helper flip the switch and see if you get continuity when the switch is on and infinity when the switch is off.

If you determine one cable is always hot and the other cable goes to the switch connect the white of the switch cable to the black of the light. Connect the black of the switch cable to the black of the hot cable. Connect the white of the light to the white of the hot.