Wiring Ariel Whirlpool Bathtub


  #1  
Old 08-29-09, 10:06 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wiring Ariel Whirlpool Bathtub

Wife had her heart set on a whirlpool she found online so it is on the way. I'm not thrilled about the fact that it is some chinese brand "Ariel" (though everything is made there nowadays) that comes with a install manual with poor english translation. As far as the wiring goes the seller said a 20amp breaker with "earth ground?" would be good. I'm thinking 20amp does not sound like enough. Specs say that is "220V 60Hzs". It has a 750W water pump, 200W air pump, and 1500W heater. I'm inclined to use a 30A double pole GFCI. I'm not thrilled with this strange brand tub choice but if it works out my wife will be thrilled and when mamas happy everyones happy. What say you. While I'm at it anyone want to share their thoughts on whats more efficent a 220V or 110V whirlpool since there seems to be arguments in both directions.
 
  #2  
Old 08-29-09, 10:37 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
The specs you gave are less then 11 amps so a 20 amp breaker would be fine. #12 wire is good if not more then 100'. There are lots of regulations you need to observe. If it is going to be outside the house you can not use cable to wire it. It must be individual wires in conduit with an insulated ground. If it is outside there must also be a 120v convenience receptacle near it but not closer then 5 feet. If on a concrete slab it may have to be bonded to the rebar. You may need a means of disconnect at the tub.
 
  #3  
Old 08-29-09, 11:54 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
It is a corner whirlpool (60" x 60") it will be inside. About 20ft run of wire. The wiring diagram in the install manual is not of much help. When it keeps refering to an "earth ground" will using a GFI breaker in the subpanel (it will be powered off from a newly installed subpanel) and grounding at that panel be sufficient.
 
  #4  
Old 08-30-09, 03:22 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Looks like you cant even get a double pole 20A GFI breaker atleast I could not find one online anywhere. Might have to try it wiht a 30 or another way.
 
  #5  
Old 08-30-09, 07:40 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,402
Received 158 Likes on 139 Posts
The earth good was hopefully referring to a grounded circuit.

You just cannot ignore the wiring instructions for the tub. Just because the circuit size doesn't feel right does not mean it can be ignored. Hopefully this tub has been tested and listed by a testing lab like UL for safety. If not I would not install it.

You will also need to bond the tub if your water lines are copper.
 
  #6  
Old 08-30-09, 07:49 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Try a real hardware store, older the better or an electrical supply house. You could even buy it on line. Check this sites retail hardware section. What you are looking for is very common.
 
  #7  
Old 08-30-09, 08:04 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,402
Received 158 Likes on 139 Posts
You could also try an electrical supply house.
 
  #8  
Old 08-30-09, 09:52 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Well darn I spent time on line looking and struck out. It is surely available though. As Ben suggested try an electrical supply house.
 
  #9  
Old 08-30-09, 09:55 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 233
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
"Earth Ground"

Researching Ariel and your type whirlpool resulted in a chinese origin as you said. The tub is built to IEC (international standard) not our NEC so they use the term 'earth ground' instead of grounded. This simply means it needs to have a ground wire in the circuit so it can be properly connected to ground or 'earth'.

as for the 20 amp dp gfci. Normally common breaker found almost anywhere....but maybe not so common depending on your panel maker and age.

240 provides more power than 120 on smaller wire...this equals manufacturer can install higher wattage heater and more hp pumps than 120 which will require bigger wire and breaker to do same. 240 needs only half the amperage to operate same power as 120. Example for your tub.... 1500 watt heater, 750 watt water pump, 200 watt air pump = 21 amps on 120 = 10.5 amps on 240.

Efficiency nearly the same... not a factor...it's all about available power and wire size and amperage.
 
  #10  
Old 08-30-09, 10:01 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 233
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
20 amp double pole gfci

try here or as advised local supply house make sure breaker fits and is listed for use in your panel

20 Amp Double Pole Gfi Breaker Sqd - SQDQ0220GF | Wholesale Electrical Supply Company

Just noticed image is not a QO but this warehouse will have what you need..tad higher in cost than you can probably find locally.
 
  #11  
Old 08-30-09, 08:43 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks everyone for your responses. The panel is a brand new Siemens panel, subpanel feeding new garage and living area. Nice to know that the tub atleast meets some type of electrical standard. Everywhere I checked there were good user reviews on the tub so I agreed to try it. As far as "ignoring the wiring instructions" that is part of the problem as the printed isntructions are very limited. It does not say what size breaker to use but the response from the seller said 20A would be sufficient. The water lines will not be cooper so bonding is not an issue. Did find a couple DP 20A GFI online line the price is scary but its got to be done. Again thanks so much for the help.
 
  #12  
Old 08-31-09, 10:23 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,941
Likes: 0
Received 45 Likes on 43 Posts
Originally Posted by firedog79 View Post
The panel is a brand new Siemens panel, subpanel feeding new garage and living area.
That breaker is a common item if you go to an electrical supply company which is a Siemens dealer. Check the yellow pages for "electrical supplies" -- every city usually has a couple supply houses hidden in run down buildings in the industrial district. Not great storefronts, but much better prices and service than online breaker dealers.

Part number QF220; the last one I bought was $65 retail and they had several in stock so really not bad in terms of GFCI breakers.
 
  #13  
Old 09-03-09, 10:23 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Another question on the install of this tub on what wire to use 12-2 or 12-3, can I use 12-2 with white marked as a hot wire or since is it a GFI and the fact its in a subpanel do I need to use 12-3 to make sure I have a neutral to attached to neutral in on the GFI>
 
  #14  
Old 09-04-09, 07:49 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
12-2. GFCI is in the subpanel and has a pigtail that connects to the neutral in the subpanel.
 
  #15  
Old 09-04-09, 08:12 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,402
Received 158 Likes on 139 Posts
Please check the instructions. 240 volt circuits can be straight 240 without a neutral, or 120/240 with a neutral. Perhaps you could look at the number and color of wiring leads from the tub junction box.

I know you said the instuctions were poor, but would like you to get this correct.

If you only have the 2 hot leads you can re-identify the white in the cable at both ends with either tape or magic marker. Do not use gray or green. I normally use red or blue.
 
  #16  
Old 09-04-09, 05:49 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tub arrived today but didn't have a chance to look at the wiring and probably wont for a few days. The very vague instruction manual that came with it says 220V 60HZ in several places with no mention of 120/240V also diagram only shows "black, white, and ground" so looks like just 12-2 hook up. I look over the wiring very closely, I have quite a bit of 12-3 wire so I might just run 12-3 just in case I am mistaken then it will be there.
 
  #17  
Old 09-04-09, 06:22 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Post deleted.

.......................
 

Last edited by ray2047; 09-04-09 at 07:52 PM.
  #18  
Old 09-04-09, 09:45 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,941
Likes: 0
Received 45 Likes on 43 Posts
Originally Posted by firedog79 View Post
I have quite a bit of 12-3 wire so I might just run 12-3 just in case I am mistaken then it will be there.
That's not a bad idea. Plus you never know if you'll be able to find OEM parts when the tub eventually needs service. Having the neutral available may help with finding suitable replacement parts.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: