Breaker panel 'bonding"?

Old 09-22-09, 06:44 AM
Breaker panel 'bonding"?

I have some basic electrical knowledge having renovated multiple homes and doing some of the basics myself while leaving the major work to professionals - like increasing from 200a to 400a with new panels, etc. In this instance I think I can handle this but want to make sure what is needed.

A home inspector noted in his report that "The breaker panels were not bonded to the grounding buses. Should a short circuit occur, the breaker panels would become energized rather than sending the short circuit to ground."

What is needed here? Is this a heavy copper wire from ground bus to a screw on the back of the metal box? Please reply with all necessary details if you have pointers here.

This is a 200A main service with a 100A sub panel directly next to it. Westinghouse / Bryant panels. thanks!

Sponsored Links
Old 09-22-09, 06:56 AM
Group Moderator
In the main panel only the neutral is grounded to the metal enclosure either with a grounding screw through the neutral bar to the panel or a strap to the panel. Which depends on make and model of panel. The ground bar if any is mounted directly to the metal box and therefore bonded. This is the only time the neutral is bonded. In subpanels the neutral is always insulated from the box and only the ground bar is bonded to the box.

Main panel is the first panel with an over current protection device (OCPD). All other panels are sub panels. Sometimes the first OCPD is built into the meter base and what appears to be a main panel is really a sub and therefore wired by the rules for a sub panels.

As to what the inspector meant that is hard to say. Any ground bar is bonded/grounded. Does your subpanel have a ground bar? If not it needs one and neutral and ground wires in the appropriate place.

Last edited by ray2047; 09-22-09 at 07:24 AM.
Old 09-22-09, 07:37 AM
Forum Topic Moderator