Rewire of House: Options? Any help appreciated...

Old 09-26-09, 09:37 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Arrow Rewire of House: Options? Any help appreciated...

I am currently in inspection/negotiation phase of buying a house with 100% Knob and Tube wiring. I am an IT professional who works occasionally from home and could benefit from having grounded outlets in every room. I plan to live in this house for at least 7 years.

The house:
Contract price $56k
Recent appraisal $70k
Total estimated rehab costs: $13k
Tax credit of $5600

Cape Cod 1.75 stories
~1000 sq ft
unfinished basement
accessible attic
2 BR + 1 Bath upstairs
Living, Dining and Kitchen downstairs
Updated 100AMP breaker box
... probably some lead paint.
I have had 2 quotes on it for complete rewire of $8000 and $10000. I also received a revised quote to replace all visible (basement and attic) KnT for ~$2000.

I don't want just a wiring face lift. I would be doing this for three reasons:

1) Functionality - I am a techie and need grounded plugs everywhere
2) Resale (ease and value) - while this isn't quite an added value, rewiring will ensure that it won't be a negative value, thus easier to sell.
3) Home insurance premium reduction - est. 30/month savings over 7 years is ~$2500, so ultimate cost will be ~$5500.

Is it worth it? I can still walk away...

How should I be shopping to reduce costs? How do I talk to a contractor to ensure best outcome?

How can I personally reduce costs? Can I do some of the work?

Can I rewire it myself and hire someone to come out and hook it up...