100A main to 50A sub

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-26-09, 07:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ontario
Posts: 2
100A main to 50A sub

My house is 3000SQFT with basement(finished).I would like to rent that basement but have no receptical for stove,fridge and microwave. Main panel is 100A and no more slots for breakers, my concern is can I add 50A subpanel, addin on sub,one DP 40A breaker for stove,wire will be 15 ` long from panel to recepticle, four 15 A brkrs , fridge,microwave, and two that i will take out from main panel, and replace for 50A.

Would that be enough if both stoves run at the same time,or maybe in summer stoves and AC
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-26-09, 08:56 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,810
Likes Received: 14
I am concerned that a 100A panel is not sufficient for a 3000 sq ft home, let alone another apartment with full kitchen within. I recommend a "demand load calculation" to determine if the service size is adequate. A service upgrade to a 200A, 40 space panel may be appropriate.
 
  #3  
Old 09-26-09, 09:08 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
If you have gas I would strongly suggest gas for the range. That would significantly ease your electrical requirements. Also make it a part of the lease only gas dryers are permitted or just provide the dryer. Water heater should be gas also.
 
  #4  
Old 09-27-09, 05:13 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ontario
Posts: 2
How can I calculate dmand factor,


Thank you for your answers
 
  #5  
Old 09-27-09, 08:50 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
Google is your friend and sometimes quicker.

- Google Search
 
  #6  
Old 09-27-09, 11:16 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
If you going to convert the basement into apartment I really strongly sugget that you will have to change the plan somehow what you will need seperated panel and meter for it {unless you include the electric in the rent }

Merci,Marc
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes