Three-way switch connections

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-29-09, 08:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Angry Three-way switch connections

I moved my three-way switches at the top and bottom of the stairs and am confused on how to wire them up again. The power comes into switch one and feeds the light and switch 2. The confusion is with switch 1, how do I wire that one up, I know I should have diagramed it out prior to disconnecting and moving them, because I would not have the probelem now
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-29-09, 09:20 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,920
Received 24 Votes on 20 Posts
Does sw2 only have the 3 wire cable in the box?
 
  #3  
Old 09-29-09, 10:05 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes sw2 has only the 3 wires
 
  #4  
Old 09-29-09, 10:54 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,920
Received 24 Votes on 20 Posts
Power in black to re-marked white in cable going to sw2. Re-marked white to COMMON on sw2. Blk and red in 3 wire cable to brass screw at sw1 and sw2. Black from fixture to COMMON at sw1. White from light and incoming white joined together.

Connect all grounds together and to all switches.
 
  #5  
Old 09-29-09, 11:26 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I will give that a try, thanks
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: