Three-way switch connections


  #1  
Old 09-29-09, 08:30 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Angry Three-way switch connections

I moved my three-way switches at the top and bottom of the stairs and am confused on how to wire them up again. The power comes into switch one and feeds the light and switch 2. The confusion is with switch 1, how do I wire that one up, I know I should have diagramed it out prior to disconnecting and moving them, because I would not have the probelem now
 
  #2  
Old 09-29-09, 09:20 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,259
Received 114 Votes on 99 Posts
Does sw2 only have the 3 wire cable in the box?
 
  #3  
Old 09-29-09, 10:05 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes sw2 has only the 3 wires
 
  #4  
Old 09-29-09, 10:54 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,259
Received 114 Votes on 99 Posts
Power in black to re-marked white in cable going to sw2. Re-marked white to COMMON on sw2. Blk and red in 3 wire cable to brass screw at sw1 and sw2. Black from fixture to COMMON at sw1. White from light and incoming white joined together.

Connect all grounds together and to all switches.
 
  #5  
Old 09-29-09, 11:26 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I will give that a try, thanks
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: