Independent Grounding?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-03-09, 06:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ga
Posts: 7
Independent Grounding?

I have a house that was built in the 50's with wire that has no ground. I'd like to put the required two GFCI's and fluorescent lighting in the kitchen. Rather than rewire, can I either pull a 12 or 10 gauge green wire from the service panel busbar and connect with ground to the GFCI's and lighting or put in a grounding rod in and connect to that?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-03-09, 06:17 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Likes Received: 1
Short answer....No. It all starts at the panel which must be properly grounded, then when you rewire the house, using 12-2 wg nm cable all will be grounded properly.
The GFCI's will provide personnel protection without the ground as they detect differences in amperage across the two poles. They as well as any downline receptacles should be marked "no equipment ground" via the stickers in the GFCI package.
 
  #3  
Old 10-03-09, 08:46 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Originally Posted by ron826 View Post
I have a house that was built in the 50's with wire that has no ground. I'd like to put the required two GFCI's and fluorescent lighting in the kitchen. Rather than rewire, can I either pull a 12 or 10 gauge green wire from the service panel busbar and connect with ground to the GFCI's and lighting or put in a grounding rod in and connect to that?

Thanks

Short answer is no not with current code the older code cycle it used to allowed but not anymore.

It will be far much eaiser to run new 12-2W/G NM cable than try to run single conductor to the panel.

Yeah you can have GFCI hookup sans ground conductor but make sure you use the sticker saying " no equiment ground "

Merci,Marc
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes